Is Taco Bell Halal?

If you eat only halal foods, you may be wondering if there is anything at Taco Bell that you can enjoy. This is a commonly asked question as Taco Bell is such a popular fast food chain that many people would like to eat at.

Halal is a very specific way of eating that restricts food groups as well as how the food is prepared. This can make it extremely difficult to eat out at restaurants, especially places within the US, where halal is not very common.

Kee[p reading to find out whether or not any options at Taco Bell are halal-friendly.

Table of Contents

Is Taco Bell Halal-Friendly?

Taco Bell gets its meat and other restaurant food ingredients from halal-certified food suppliers so that its ingredients are all halal-friendly. Though the Taco Bell restaurant locations cannot guarantee that everything is made up to specific halal food preparation standards.

Taco Bell has tried very hard to offer halal options to those who follow this way of eating. It has specifically sought out halal food suppliers to stock its restaurant locations with these ingredients.

This is something that is unusual as most fast-food restaurants have not gone to this kind of effort. Most if not all other fast food places cannot offer any kind of halal food on their menus.

Halal is very specific, and the food must be prepared and located in very specific ways. This makes it very difficult to offer halal food that is guaranteed to be halal.

Though Taco Bell has tried its best, it cannot guarantee that every location prepares the halal ingredients to the halal standards. Some locations do, but some fall short in this area of food preparation.

Taco Bell is also not halal certified, though it is currently working towards getting this certification. Once it does, it will be able to offer certified halal food for those following this way of eating.

If it is able to achieve this, Taco Bell will be one of the only fast-food restaurant chains to achieve this standard. This will open its doors to a whole new group of customers who can enjoy its food.

Does Taco Bell Serve Pork?

If you eat halal, one question that you might have is whether or not Taco Bell serves pork. The short answer is that Taco Bell does not serve pork.

Is Taco Bell Halal

Taco Bell only offers a very minimal selection of meat on its menu, this includes, beef, steak, and chicken. There is no pork on the menu as this is not a normal type of meat to include in Tex-Mex food.

This is good news for those who eat halal, as pork is strictly forbidden, and there is no halal pork. Not unless you were to eat some kind of pork substitute that did not contain the actual meat itself.

Taco Bell mostly relies on its 100% ground beef and only features steak and chicken in a few of its menu items. Its beef is halal certified and comes from reputable and trustworthy suppliers of halal meats.

This means that the meat on the Taco Bell menu should all be halal-friendly. Though Taco Bell cannot yet guarantee this due to different types of preparation in its Taco Bell locations.

But you can rest easy in knowing that the meat itself is halal and has most likely been prepared in the right way. If you are concerned about this, you could always ask or simply order from the vegetarian options.

The vegetarian options on the Taco Bell menu should be guaranteed to be halal as the ingredients are halal and constrain no meat. This is the safest option to go with if you just aren’t sure about how the meat is prepared.

Some vegetarian options at Taco Bell include:

  • Black bean crunch wrap
  • Bean burrito
  • Black bean quesarito
  • Beans and rice
  • Cheese quesadilla
  • Cheesy roll up
  • Hash browns

Are All Taco Bells Halal?

It is impossible to say how many Taco Bell’s offer halal options. In the US, most if not all Taco Bells use halal suppliers to get their ingredients, specifically meat.

Though these Taco Bell’s are not yet certified as being halal, despite serving food that comes from halal suppliers. It is working on changing this, however, so US Taco Bell’s may very soon be halal certified.

The UK also has several halal-certified Taco Bell’s that you can eat at. Unless it is clearly stated, you should always ask before ordering food, as it can be hard to know.

Every Taco Bell is slightly different, and some may have higher halal standards than others. Until all are halal certified, there is no way of knowing which are halal and which aren’t.

Is Taco Bell Food Halal?

Taco Bell has made strides towards being more halal and offering halal options to its customers. It has done this so far by buying its meat and other food ingredients from certified halal suppliers.

Though Taco Bell has yet to become halal certified itself, so it cannot guarantee that the food is halal-friendly. The food may be halal, but it may not be prepared up to halal standards.

As of right now, there are no US Taco Bell’s that are certified as being halal despite locating halal ingredients. So you may want to ask about this before ordering or simply order vegetarian options instead.

These are the best ways that you can order halal food at Taco Bell and still get to try its delicious menu options.

Please Share This
Leave a Comment