If you eat at Wendy’s but have questions about its sweet and sour sauce, this is the place to be. This article is going to be all about Wendy’s sweet and sour sauce, from what it is to who makes it.
This is a fan favorite sauce that has stood the test of time and remained one of the best sauces at Wendy’s. To find out more about this sauce and who can and can’t have it, keep reading for more information.
Table of Contents
What’s in Wendy’s Sweet and Sour Sauce?
Wendy’s sweet and sour sauce is one of its most popular dipping sauces that it offers. This can be enjoyed with just about any Wendy’s food item, from chicken tenders to burgers to fries or anything else that could use some flavor.
This sweet and tangy dipping sauce is bursting with a fresh flavor and is complementary to many Wendy’s menu items. It is a fan favorite and has been around for a long time on the Wendy’s menu.
The Wendy’s sweet and sour sauce includes:
- Caramel color
- High fructose corn syrup
- Citric acid
- Bell peppers
- Extractives of paprika
- Sodium benzoate
- Artificial color
- Pineapple juice concentrate
- Modified food starch
- Distilled vinegar
Who Makes Wendy’s Sweet and Sour Sauce?
There is really no telling who exactly makes Wendy’s sweet and sour sauce. If you look at the packet, it says it is packed by manufacturer and authorized by Wendy’s.
This doesn’t say anything about who actually makes the sauce, making it difficult to buy it on its own. As far as we know, Wendy’s could be making this sauce from its own recipe, but there’s really no way of knowing.
You could try to ask a manager at Wendy’s, but they may not know either or be allowed to tell you.
Can you Buy Wendy’s Sweet and Sour Sauce?
There is no evidence that you can actually go out and buy Wendy’s sweet and sour sauce. Without knowing who makes it, it is nearly impossible to track down the exact sauce to buy.
You could try to buy a bunch of the sauce at a Wendy’s location, they might allow you to do that. You could ask a manager if this is allowed since you like the sauce so much.
Most places will probably not allow this, but some might, as it doesn’t do any harm. You could also ask for extra packets whenever you eat at Wendy’s.
What is Wendy’s Sweet and Sour Sauce Nutritional Information?
It is no secret that Wendy’s sweet and sour sauce is not considered to be a healthy condiment. But it is worth noting the nutritional information for reference about what it contains.
A single serving of Wendy’s sweet and sour sauce has:
- 50 Calories
- 120mg Sodium
- 11g Sugar
- 12g Carbohydrates
- 0g Dietary fiber
Is Wendy’s Sweet and Sour Sauce Gluten-Free?
The sweet and sour sauce at Wendy’s is unfortunately not gluten-free. There is no knowing which ingredient is the cause of this, but it is not safe for those who do not consume gluten.
Though there are a few gluten-free condiment options at Wendy’s that you can have a look at. The honey mustard, BBQ sauce, mustard, and ketchup are all gluten-free options.
Is Wendy’s Sweet and Sour Sauce Vegan?
The sweet and sour sauce at Wendy’s is vegan-friendly if you avoid consuming any meat, eggs, or dairy products. This is great news for vegans as this is a delicious condiment option at Wendy’s.
There are no animal products in it whatsoever, and there is no reason to believe that it could be cross-contaminated either.
What is Wendy’s Sweet and Sour Sauce?
Wendy’s sweet and sour sauce is one of the most beloved sauce options at this popular fast-food chain. This sweet and tangy sauce is a bright and bold flavor that is complementary to many Wendy’s savoy items.
It is most commonly paired with its chicken strips but goes great with other options, such as fries and burgers.
Wendy’s sweet and sour sauce is also vegan-friendly, which is great news for any vegans out there. It contains no animal products and is not marked as being exposed to any cross-contamination.
While it is vegan-friendly, this sweet and sour sauce is not gluten-free, unfortunately. Though Wendy’s has other gluten-free condiment options, such as its honey mustard and BBQ sauce.
While you cannot go out and buy the specific sweet and sour sauce that Wendy’s uses, you may be able to buy some from Wendy’s directly. Some locations may allow this while others may not, you will just have to ask.
You can ask a Wendy’s manager if you can buy extra sweet and sour sauces to take home. Make sure to ask a manager as an employee is not going to know if this is allowed or not.